Header Image


Key Staff

For any questions and information about the FMWG please contact the FMWG Senior Program Coordinator, Dr. Sara Kutchesfahani at skutchesfahani@armscontrolcenter.org
Interested in becoming an FMWG member or international partner? Read these instructions.


Media Contacts

Please direct all media inquiries and expert interview requests to Dr. Sara Kutchesfahani, at skutchesfahani@armscontrolcenter.org

The FMWG Steering Committee is comprised of the following professionals:
  • Miles Pomper, Senior Fellow, James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies (Chair)
  • Irma Arguello, Founder and Chair, NPSGlobal Foundation
  • Andrew Bieniawski, Vice President, Material Security and Minimization, Nuclear Threat Initiative
  • Dr. Matthew Bunn, Co-Principal Investigator, Project on Managing the Atom, Harvard University
  • Richard Cupitt, Senior Associate and Director UNSCR 1540 Assistance Support Initiative, Stimson Center
  • Dr. Christopher Hobbs, Reader in Science and Security, Department of War Studies, King's College London 
  • Ambassador Laura Holgate, Harvard University, former U.S. Representative to the Vienna Office of the UN and IAEA
  • Kingston Reif, Director for Disarmament and Threat Reduction Policy, Arms Control Association
  • Andrew Semmel, Chairman, Board of Directors, Partnership for a Secure America
  • Sharon Squassoni, Director and Senior Fellow, Proliferation Prevention Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies
  • Dr. Benn Tannenbaum, Non-Resident Fellow, Center for Science, Technology, and Security Policy, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • John Tierney, Executive Director, Council for a Livable World and Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation
  • Paul Walker, Director, Security & Sustainability, Green Cross International
  • Anthony Wier, Director and Legislative Secretary for Nuclear Disarmament and Pentagon Spending, Friends Committee on National Legislation

The Fissile Materials Working Group (FMWG) is a non-governmental coalition of 80 civil society organizations from around the world working to provide actionable policy solutions to keep the world safe from nuclear terrorism. 

The FMWG has been a forceful presence in support of improved fissile materials security and the prevention of nuclear terrorism. Important milestones for the FMWG include:

These activities engaged a broad array of international stakeholders.

The Working Group is comprised of the following organizations:
American Association for the Advancement of Science | Arms Control Association | Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists | Cato Institute | Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation | Center for International Trade and Security, University of Georgia | Center for Political-Military Analysis, Hudson Institute | Center for Strategic and International StudiesCitizens for Global Solutions  | Citizens to Stop Nuclear TerrorismCouncil for a Livable World | Federation of American Scientists | First Watch International | Friends Committee on National Legislation | Fund for Peace | Green Cross International | The Henry L. Stimson Center | The Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy | James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies, Monterey Institute of International Studies | National Security Network | Natural Resources Defense Council | Nuclear Policy Program, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace | Nuclear Proliferation Prevention Project, University of TexasNuclear Threat Initiative | Partnership for a Secure America | Partnership for Global Security | Peace Action | Physicians for Social Responsibility | Program on Science and Global Security, Princeton University | Project on Government Oversight | Project on Managing the Atom, Harvard University's Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs | ReThink Media | Security Studies Program, Massachusetts Institute of Technology | The Stanley Foundation | Union of Concerned Scientists | U.S.-Korea Institute at Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies | Women's Action for New Directions
The Fissile Materials Working Group is proud to call the following organizations its International Partners:
African Centre for Science and International Security Citizens and Scientists for Security Solutions (Ghana) | Ahmadu Bello University (Nigeria) | AN & Associates (Sweden) | Analytical Center for Nonproliferation (Russia) | Arab Institute for Security Studies (Jordan) | The Asan Institute for Policy Studies (Republic of Korea) | Austrian Institute for International Affairs (Austria) | Center for Energy and Security Studies (Russia) | Center for Foreign Policy and Regional Studies (Vietnam) | Center for International Security Studies at MEF University (Turkey) | Center for the Promotion of Disarmament and Nonproliferation (Japan) | Center for Security Studies (Taiwan) | Centre for Conflict and Security Law, Utrecht University  (Netherlands) | Centre for Economics and Foreign Policy Studies (Turkey) |Centre for Science and Security Studies, King's College London (United Kingdom) | Centro Ecuatoriano Estudios Internacionales (Ecuador) | Chatham House, International Security Research Department (United Kingdom) | China Arms Control and Disarmament Association (China) | Civil Council on Defense and Security (Georgia) | Danish Institute for International Studies (Denmark) | Forum on Climate Change and Energy Policy (Republic of Korea) | Geneva Centre for Security Policy (Switzerland) | Georgian Institute of Public Affairs School of Law and Politics (Georgia) | IKV Pax Christi (Netherlands) | Institute of Advanced Studies (Chile) | Institute for Security Studies (South Africa) | Institute for Strategic Studies (India) | International Affairs and Foreign Policy Institute (Spain) |  International Institute for Strategic Studies (United Kingdom) | International Network of Emerging Nuclear Specialists (United Kingdom) | International Science and Technology Center (Multinational) | Korea National Diplomatic Academy (Republic of Korea) | Netherlands Institute of International Relations Clingendael (Netherlands) | Nord-Sud Ventures (Algeria) | NPSGlobal Foundation (Argentina) | Proyecto Latinoamericano de Asuntos Nucleares (Colombia) | The Russian Center for Policy Studies (Russia) | Russian Strategic Nuclear Forces Project (Russia) | S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (Singapore) | School of Politics and International Relations, Australia National University (Australia) | South Asian Strategic Stability Institute (United Kingdom) | University of Antwerp (Belgium) | University of Kabangsaan (Malaysia) | Vienna Center for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation (Austria)